User Tools

Site Tools


The 32nd ACM Symposium on Applied Computing

Special Track on Internet of Things (IoT)

Apr. 3 - 7, 2017, Marrakech, Morocco

Track Description

The Internet of Things (IoT) is a network of smart objects with pervasive and autonomous communication through internet connectivity. It has been emerged as a powerful and promising technology with significant technical, social and economic impacts. However, there are also lots of challenges to overcome to realize the potential benefits of IoT. The IoT track aims at bringing together researchers, experts, and practitioners from academia, industry, and government, to discuss current trends in research, practices, and education efforts of IoT. The track intends to foster the identification of the challenges facing IoT and approaches for solving them. The topics of the proposed track include, but are not limited to:

  • IoT Architectures, Systems and Testbeds
  • IoT Standards
  • Networking Technologies for IoT
  • Protocols and Algorithms for IoT
  • Data Management for IoT
  • Power Management for IoT
  • Data Analytics for IoT
  • Cognitive IoT
  • Identity Management in IoT
  • Security and Privacy of IoT
  • Social and Human Aspects in IoT
  • Cloud Computing and IoT
  • Body sensor networks
  • Intelligent Transportation Systems
  • Smart Grids
  • Smart Homes and Smart Cities
  • Smart Agriculture
  • Industrial IoT Applications
  • Consumer IoT Applications

Submission Guideline

Papers that offer novel research contributions in the above-mentioned areas are solicited for the special track on Internet of Things. Papers must be written in English. The file format should be PDF, and papers must be formatted according to the template available at the SAC 2017 website. ACM SAC has the double blind review policy. Hence, the submission must be anonymous; no author name and affiliation must appear in the body of the paper, and self-reference should be in the third person. The length of accepted regular papers is 6 pages (covered by registration fee) with additional 2 pages (extra charge), so the maximum length of the regular papers will be 8 pages. The length of accepted poster papers is 3 pages (covered by registration fee) with additional 1 page (extra charge), so the maximum length of the poster papers will be 4 pages. Submission of papers is through the START conference system found at

Paper registration is required, allowing the inclusion of the papers, posters, and SRC abstracts in the conference proceedings. An author or a proxy attending SAC MUST present the paper: This is a requirement for the paper/poster to be included in the ACM/IEEE digital library. No-show of registered papers, posters, and SRC abstracts will result in excluding them from the ACM/IEEE digital library.

Student Research Competition

Student Research Competition (SRC) Program: Graduate students are invited to submit research abstracts (minimum of 2-page and maximum of 4-page) following the instructions published at SAC 2017 website. Submission of the same abstract to multiple tracks is not allowed. All research abstract submissions will be reviewed by researchers and practitioners with expertise in the track focus area to which they are submitted. Authors of selected abstracts will have the opportunity to give poster presentations of their work and compete for three top-winning places. The SRC committee will evaluate and select First-, Second-, and Third- place winners. The winners will receive cash awards and SIGAPP recognition certificates during the conference banquet. Authors of selected abstracts are eligible to apply to the SIGAPP Student Travel Award program for support.

Important Dates

  • Paper submission deadline: Oct. 7, 2016
  • Notification of acceptance: Nov. 18, 2016
  • Camera-ready deadline: Dec. 2, 2016

Track Chairs

  • Gail-Joon Ahn, Arizona State University (
  • Seong-Je Cho, Dankook University (
  • Jun Zheng, New Mexico Tech (

Program Committee

  • Reza Azarderakhsh, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
  • David Bakken, Washington State University, USA
  • Rakesh Bobba, Oregon State University, USA
  • Kim-Kwong Raymond Choo, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
  • Zongming Fei, University of Kentucky, USA
  • Junyoung Heo, Hansung University, South Korea
  • Eul Gyu Im, Hanyang University, South Korea
  • BooJoong Kang, Queen's University Belfast, UK
  • Yoohwan Kim, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, USA
  • Ram Krishnan, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
  • Parag Kulkani, Toshiba Research Europe
  • Mun Kyu Lee, Inha University, South Korea
  • Bruce McMillin, Missouri University of Science of Technology, USA
  • Alessio Merlo, University of Genova, Italy
  • Satyajayant Jay Misra, New Mexico State University, USA
  • Mithun Mukherjee, Guangdong University of Petrochemical Technology, China
  • Yogesh Simmhan, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
  • Lei Shu, Guangdong University of Petrochemical Technology, China
  • Minseok Song, Inha University, South Korea
  • Yan Zhang, Simula Research Laboratory, Norway

Page Tools