Professor & Associate Department Chair
Department of Mechanical Engineering

New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology

Editor-In-Chief, SAE International Journal of Fuels and Lubricants
Associate Editor, ASME Journal of Engineering for Gas Turbines & Power
Vice Chair, SAE International Education Board (EB)
Vice Chair, NSPE Higher Education Interest Group
Chair, ASME-New Mexico Section Vice Chair
Board of Directors, Turkish Society of Automotive Engineers





Awards and Honors

Computer Skills

Professional Service Activities










Nadir Yilmaz is a professor and the associate department chair of Mechanical Engineering at New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, as well as, a State of New Mexico licensed professional engineer (P.E.) and consultant. He received B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in Mechanical Engineering from Istanbul Technical University, Bradley University and New Mexico State University, respectively. He is a Fellow of ASME, a Fellow of NSPE and a Fellow of SAE International. Prof. Yilmaz has been a noted author of many publications in the fields of combustion, CFD, rocket propellants, renewable energy and internal combustion engines with emphasis on PAHs, emissions and alternative fuels. He has advised many minority students under the New Mexico AMP (Alliance for Minority Participation) program and has successfully trained many young engineers, which include many women and underrepresented minorities as STEM professionals.

Prof. Yilmaz is an active member of Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE International), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), and National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE). He serves as the editor-in-chief for the SAE International Journal of Fuels and Lubricants, is a committee member on the SAE ABET Accreditation Board, and is the Vice Chair of SAE International Education Board which oversees all the engineering education activities of SAE International serving more than 130,000 members, globally. In addition, he is an associate editor of ASME Journal of Engineering for Gas Turbines and Power and has been serving as the chair of ASME New Mexico Section since 2014. Within NSPE, he has served as the vice chair of NSPE Professional Engineers in Higher Education Interest Group (PEHE), a member of NSPE National Membership Board, and a member of NSPE Young Engineers Advisory Council. Also, Prof. Nadir Yilmaz serves on the Board of Directors of the Turkish Society of Automotive Engineers and the New Mexico Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors. Locally, his service includes president of New Mexico Society of Professional Engineers (NMSPE) State and Albuquerque Chapters.

Prof. Yilmaz has received numerous awards at the state, national and international levels. Among his top awards, he is the 2014 NSPE National Young Engineer of the Year, given to a professional engineer under the age of 35 in the United States, nationally, which is an award not bestowed upon a New Mexico engineer since 1979. Beyond this award, Prof. Yilmaz has received numerous engineering education/teaching specific awards, including the SAE International Ralph R. Teetor Education Award in 2011, making him the first recipient from a New Mexico institution to receive this award, which serves to recognize and honor young engineering educators who are successfully preparing student engineers for the task of properly integrating into mainstream society and the engineering profession. In 2016, he also received the prestigious 2016 SAE Excellence in Engineering Education –“Triple E” Award, which is the highest educational award given by SAE, internationally. He also received the New Mexico Tech University Distinguished Teaching Award in 2013, which is given to only one professor annually. His other awards include: 2013 Young Engineer of the Year and 2016 Engineer of the Year by NMSPE-State Chapter and NMSPE-Albuquerque Chapter, 2013 ASEE Outstanding Teaching Award, 2013 & 2016 SAE International Faculty Advisor Award, 2012 & 2013 U.S. Department of Energy Visiting Faculty Program Fellowship and the Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TUBITAK) Visiting Scientist Fellowship.