To bottom

ARMiller's Chronicles of Narnia

The following items appear in The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis.

   Sons of Adam, Daughters of Eve, and Similar Characters

   Other Characters

To top    Other

Why, Son of Adam, don't you understand? A Centaur has a man-stomach and a horse-stomach. And of course both want breakfast. So first of all he has porridge and pavenders and kidneys and bacon and omelette and cold ham and toast and marmalade and coffee and beer. And after that he attends to the horse part of himself by grazing for an hour or so and finishing up with a hot mash, some oats, and a bag of sugar. That's why it's such a serious thing to ask a Centaur to stay for the week-end. A very serious thing indeed. -- Orruns, a Faun, The Silver Chair, Chapter 16

   The Chronicles of Narnia were published in this order:

  1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)
  2. Prince Caspian (1951)
  3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)
  4. The Silver Chair (1953)
  5. The Horse and His Boy (1954)
  6. The Magicians Nephew (1955)
  7. The Last Battle (1956)
   However, the chronological order of the stories is the following:
  1. The Magician's Nephew
  2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  3. The Horse and His Boy
  4. Prince Caspian
  5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  6. The Silver Chair
  7. The Last Battle

Some people feel that it is more logical to read the Chronicles in their published order. Others feel that the allegory is better treated in the chronological order. The Magician's Nephew tells of the creation of Narnia, the lamp-post, and the wardrobe. The Horse and His Boy fits in near the end of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe while Prince Caspian is set many years later.

   Also see: Summary, The Characters, 2, 3, 4, Reading order, History, , , ,

   1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

PC Version To top

Home, index | Harry Potter | Lord of Rings | Art and Museums | Illusions | Books | Search

Revised: April 18, 2007